Liebster Blog Award

Thanks to NepaliAustralian for the Liebster Blog Award! I feel very honoured and happy πŸ™‚

Liebster means dearest/favourite in German. The idea of the award is to promote your 5 favourite blogs with less than 200 followers. M at NepaliAustralian has listed the following Rules for the Liebster Award:

  • Show your thanks to the blogger who gave you the award by linking back to them.
  • Reveal your 5 top picks for the award and let them know by linking to their blog.
  • Post the award on your blog.
  • Bask in the love from the most supportive people on the blogosphere – other bloggers.
  • Best of all – have fun and spread all that good blogging karma.

Blogging has really helped me this year. And by far the best thing about blogging has been meeting other bloggers and feeling part of a blogging community. Lately I’ve been spending time on other aspects of my life (like my social life!!) but I can honestly say that during some of the hardest times this year, reading, commenting, posting, debating, emailing, facebooking…all of it helped SO MUCH.

I was going to cheat on this at first and list 10 blogsΒ  – 5 first and then 5 in response to NepaliAustralian’s award. Even narrowing it down to 10 blogs is no easy task! But I’ll resist the urge to cheat, and as one of the Liebster goals is to spotlight up-and-coming blogs, I’d like to award my favourite 5 newer blogs. I have a host of more-established-than-me-blogs which inspired me to start this blog and explore intercultural and interracial relationship issues in the first place. I suspect you guys might know who you are as I’ve been through periods of obsessively commenting on your blogs πŸ™‚ As I haven’t had as much time to comment on newer blogs in recent months, this is a thanks for all the great posts that I enjoy reading so much from more recent bloggers.

In no particular order, my list is:

NepaliAustralian

You have such a diverse range of posts and open heart when it comes to blogging. I love the way you share your experiences of Nepal and Australia, and contrast and explore the two cultures. Some of my favourite posts are the ones about your wedding, Nepali traditions, and that one about Australian slang πŸ™‚

Nepali Jiwan

I really admire your balance of personal experiences with thoughtful reflection to explore issues like caste, gender, marriage, purity, religion, food and everything else about Nepal in a down-to-earth, accessible way. Thanks for sharing your journey, and always look forward to reading more!

Life through a Kaleidoscope

You always have such a great range of topics to blog about! And you do it in a way that’s thoughtful, colourful and fun. It’s inspiring how you openly share your thoughts about relationships, communication, cultural difference and life in general. You should be proud of what you’ve achieved in your blog so far πŸ™‚

Cynically Engineered

I’m so glad I came across your blog CE. It’s great to read about relationships, marriage, gender roles and such from the perspective an intelligent guy. And it’s great to laugh while I read πŸ™‚Β  Hope to see you active in the blogosphere again soon.

Masala Bou

Your writing resonates with me both emotionally and intellectually. You’re mindful not only of cultural difference, but also of racial and class difference and how they shape interpersonal relationships and personal identity. I sometimes feel like my own relationships with my partner and my parents (and maybe even myself) turn into a microcosm of wider racial and class politics/conflict. It’s incredibly validating to have somebody acknowledge, through thoughtful writing, that these wider social dynamics can and do play a major role in personal dynamics. Blogging is a fantastic platform for exploring political and social issues through your personal journey (rather than through abstract academic concepts) and you do a great job of this! Keep up the good work.

4 Comments

Filed under Blogging

4 responses to “Liebster Blog Award

  1. Thank you so much Taswin πŸ™‚ I appreciate all the sweet things you’ve said about my blog. I din’t know it was this positive, now I can be proud of it. πŸ™‚ And also for giving me the chance to award more blogs! Thanks πŸ™‚

  2. Thank you so much Taswin for the award and the honour. I am really happy to be on your list .Wishing you a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!!!

  3. Pingback: Liebster Blog Award : The Karma continues again… | nepaliaustralian

  4. Thank you! I don’t know if there are 5 I know with less than 200 followers but if I do I will nominate them!
    Happy New Year.

Leave a Reply

